top of page

What to Pack for IFYE

Updated: Aug 4, 2022

Going abroad for 3-6 months and not knowing exactly where you are going, what you’ll all be doing, and when you’ll be able to do laundry can make packing for the trip challenging. Even though I enjoy packing, preparing for this trip was a bit difficult. For starters I knew I wanted to pack light and pack in a backpack. This being because it is so much easier to carry from plane to train to car to “short” walk up to the house/hotel. Next I knew the weather would change from hot summer to fall while I was traveling, so I would need a bit of everything. Below are some lists in reflection of what I packed as an IFYE.

 

Everything I owned for three months

 

EVERYTHING I had:

What I packed that I was most glad I had:

What I packed that I didn’t use:

What I wish I brought:


 

During IFYE orientation it is also discussed multiple times to bring along items as gifts for you host families. Small things that are meaningful and may also represent the state that you are from are recommended. For this I was able to prepare a few different things. First I contacted my states department of tourism and also my university’s admission office, and they were able to provide me with items to talk about my state but also leave as gifts. From these organizations I got stickers, pens, post cards, travel guides, info-graphics, pamphlets, maps, and some spirit items. Next I wanted to give my families something that I also enjoyed doing and that was apart of my life at home, so I created a recipe book of my favorite American dishes. Many of these recipes I grew up making and were often shared in my family. The recipe book also allowed me the opportunity to make a meal for my host family while staying with them. I was able to put together these books at home and prepared enough so each host family could have a copy when I left. I was glad to be able to leave a little piece of home with each family to remember me by.


 

Recipe book I made for each host family

 


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page