top of page

Riding the Culture Shock Curve as an IFYE

Updated: Jul 29, 2022

Something I wrote in my personal journal during my first week - In some moments it feels like I was here all my life and at other times simple things like starting a microwave is impossible. This is a challenging new feeling but I am very grateful to be able to experience it.

 

Adjusting to a new culture can often feel like riding a wave. A good concept for this is called the culture shock curve. This curve depicts thoughts and feelings that one experiences while adjusting to a new environment. There are five phases that occur in correlation with time and events that take place. The time it takes for one to go through each phase depends on the individual. The five phases include the honeymoon phase, crisis phase, adjustment phase, acceptance phase, and reentry phase. The crisis phase is when culture shock occurs. When more and more differences occur, and things start to become overwhelming or annoying. At this point the new culture is harshly compared to ones home culture. Then comes the adjustment phase, when negative feelings turn into positive feelings. The new situation is understood and accepted as a way of life.

 

 

In my writing about my frustration with the microwave, I was reflecting on the crisis phase and adjustment phase. When this event took place, I was left alone at home waiting for my host dad to pick me up to visit his work site. I was told to help myself to the food in the refrigerator for lunch. I had seen the microwave used before and thought it wouldn’t be to difficult. The microwave settings being in German, I soon found myself pressing multiple buttons just so it would start. Whatever combination of buttons I tried, it would not start. This simple life task was now impossible for me and I started to become irritated. The crisis phase. Then I got out my google translate and type in two words that I continued to see during my rapid button pressing. Kurzzeit - meaning short time & garzeiten - meaning cooking time. I was then able to navigate through the German speaking microwave to warm up my lunch. That night when I wrote that I was grateful to experience challenges like these, I had accepted the new culture. Reinforcing in my reflection my desire to learn the German language. The adjustment phase.

 

 

This is just one small example of adjusting to a new culture. There are many other bigger things that I also have to adjust to as an IFYE, like becoming part of my host family’s daily routine. Typical foods served at different meals, walking in the city with big crowds, greetings and gestures, relaxing in the evening together, playing games together, and many other things are all parts of life that I have had to adjust to in a new way. I have been riding the culture curve with each experience and will also have new experiences to come as I continue my time abroad as an IFYE.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page